Doula / Food / Sustainability / Wellness / Writing

Accepting 30

Flirty 30-Sanibel Island, FL

On November 3, 2011, I turned 30 years old. I celebrated with my mother on Sanibel Island in Florida. It was magical.

A friend once told me, “Things calm down when you turn 30. You won’t be as restless as you were in your 20s. You’ll be more content.”

Wrong. At least in my case. I feel much the opposite. There is so much to do, read, experience, learn and accomplish.

When I was 26, I took a job with Lake Agassiz Regional Library as their Marketing Director. I’m in charge of “selling” literacy and library access for all. A sweet gig? Yes, absolutely. My job reflects my values.

But it wasn’t enough. There were other paths of self-examination I insisted on exploring.

Doulas welcome brand new Earthlings.

#1-Supporting Mothers/Families as a Doula

I became a doula because women and families deserve education and advocacy and tender loving care  when they bring children into the world. End of story. And I love it.

#2-Writing What I Need to Read

Everyone enjoys a good story.

There are fewer published women writers than men. I have a lot to say and I LOVE interviewing people. I must write or I get withdrawal symptoms. (Not kidding.) I’ve written a story for children and am working on getting it published. I’ll keep you posted on that front!

#3-Treating My Body With Kindness.

Nora & Janelle are headed to the BWCA in September 2012!

I’m rather obsessed about food. Good food. I want to learn more about food and it’s power to heal. It’s quite the quest and there is much to learn. Also, if I don’t take some form of exercise each day (swimming, biking, dancing or walking), I’m just not myself.

So these are the ways in which I’m accepting 30, creating calm and cultivating contentment.

I’m glad you’re on this journey with me.

3 thoughts on “Accepting 30

  1. I hear you, friend. I am crazy restless at 33! Making myself bonkers with the the goals I have! The difference for me is I am much more hesitant to just leap like I did in my twenties… that is what I am working on this year! Look out 34!

  2. Laura, my mother gave Lukas and I a wall hanging that read, “Leap and the net will appear!” when we moved from Minneapolis to Moorhead without jobs when Dylan was six months old. Leap, Laura, leap! 34 won’t know what hit it!

  3. Well, 30 looks great on you, Janelle! Such a wealth of positive energy you share with others. Congrats on the new writing assignment! I learn so much from you.

Leave a Reply

